Who we are & what we do

Costessey Town Council consists of a max. 19 elected councillors who serve for a four year term. All Councillors are voluntary and receive no payment whatsoever with the exception of pre-approved out-of-pocket expenses for travel outside Costessey.

The Town Council Office is located at The Costessey Centre, Longwater Lane, Norwich NR8 5AH - Our office on the first floor with lift access, and there is a letterbox outside. Ten staff are employed by the Town Council.

Opening Hours - Monday to Thursday 10am to 4pm and Friday 10am to 1pm. Telephone us Monday to Thursday 9:30am to 4:30pm and Friday 9:30am to 1:30pm Email us - info@costesseytc.org or Contact Us | Costessey Town Council

Council Meetings - see the diary of meetings for more information.

What we do -

The Town Council owns and manages the Costessey Centre, Queen's Hills Community Centre, Breckland Hall & Owen Barnes Room, Breckland Recreation Ground, Longwater Recreation Ground, Gunton Lane Recreation Ground, Bunkers Hill Woodland, Greenhills Wood, Husenbeth Close Play Area and open space, Breydon Drive open space, the Cemetery and the Roundwell Monument.​

It maintains St Edmund's Churchyard, facilitates the allotment charges and various other smaller areas such as the green on which the Village sign stands.​

More open spaces will be transferred to the Town Council in the future; we feel at a local level we are best placed to look after them and respond quickly to issues that arise.

We are very proud of the facilities we manage and are always seeking to improve these by earmarking reserves and obtaining grants for specific projects.

Full Council is consulted on every planning application submitted in Costessey; and on a huge range of local and national issues.

Costessey Town Council is dedicated to serving the community

Town Councillors

Nineteen Town Councillors were elected in May 2019. Five resignations were received in December 2020 and the vacancies were filled in May 2021. If you would like to become a councillor look out information published by South Norfolk leading up to the next planned elections in May 2023. Casual Vacancies will be advertised on this page.

Members Declarations of Interest can be found on South Norfolk Council's website.

Committee Membership

Members Code of Conduct

Standing Orders

Member Officer Protocol

Annual Chairman's & Town Clerk's Reports

Staff Vacancies

Our Staff

We have a team of staff that work together to deliver the range of services we provide.

Stacey Kent

Town Clerk & Responsible Financial Officer

01603 742958

Based at The Costessey Centre

Nigel Bailey

Deputy Clerk


01603 742958

Debbie Bowles

Buildings Manager


01603 742958

Emma Savage

Clerk's Assistant


01603 742958

Laura Trabucco

Clerk's Assistant


01603 742958

Maurice Barrowcliffe



01603 742958

Georgina Duford



01603 742958

Grounds Staff

Barry Barber

Head Groundsman

07732 015481 (emergency only)

Steve Lester

Asst Groundsman

Jonathan Piesse

Grounds Support


Paul Cooper

Volunteer Archivist


01603 742958

Pauline Williamson

Volunteer Tree Warden


01603 742491

However small your offer of help it will have added value by allowing us to keep the Costessey Council Tax low. All volunteers need to register to be covered by our insurance and we can will always provide the appropriate equipment and cover your out of pocket expenses. Our Town Councillors do not receive an allowance and are elected to make decisions on your behalf. Volunteers currently registered are the Tree Warden, Litter Pickers and Fete volunteers. All ideas welcome, including office support and even website development!

Last updated: Fri, 27 May 2022 14:39